get connected.

hospital, day 1

I was here at the hospital the whole night, my brother was
diagnosed with dengue yesterday. He’s been having fevers up to 40c since Thursday.
He tested negative on the first blood test but they wanted to be sure yesterday
which is why they tested him again. They had to rush him to the nearest
hospital. So after work I came and spent the night here…

 

They gave him a plasma and platelet transfusion last night…
no negative reactions to it so far. My mom’s flying in today from the
province. She’ll be arriving in about an hour. It’ll be good for my
brother to have my mom around… since Saturday he’s been talking
about dying which is not really probable… is it? I don’t even want
to think about it. I shouldn’t. I’m just going to drive myself nuts
entertaining the thought and in the end it might just be over nothing. Well
there’s no denying that dengue is noted to have a high mortality rate,
but of course, I’m sure that’s for the cases when it isn’t
treated properly. I’m not paranoid. I’m sure you think I’m
starting to get crazy over this but I’m not… I’m just
expressing my thoughts, you know, there’s nothing else to do over here so
I decided to write… no one to talk to but Oyster so here I am.

 

i think I just got bitten by something, hope it’s not
a mosquito. If it is, hope it didn’t bite my brother before it bit me! Hehe
hmmm…

 

student nurse just took his temperature, 39.9… I’m
sure he’’ll get better in a bit. He still has two bags of platelets
on the way. He was supposed to have 5 last night but only 3 were available so
they had to wait till this morning.

 

student nurses are much better than the actual nurses…
they actually nurse, I mean take care of their patients… I mean, like
just now my brother coughed some onto his spitbowl and this guy actually took
the bowl and washed it. Last night we had this one bitchy nurse who replied,
well snapped at everything we asked, kind of like she was irritated. Doesn’t
she understand that were just worried about things. take this for example, as I
mentioned, my brother’s platelet count dropped to 18 yesterday which is
why he was rushed to the hospital. My uncle, who’s a doctor, ordered for
blood transfusion as soon as possible. That was at about
4 pm and last
night at about 10 they haven’t even started yet and of course as worried
relatives we ask the nurse. Put it this way, it couldn’t have been any
worse if she said, “It’s cause he still has fever you stupid idiots
that we can’t give him a transfusion yet!! Don’t you dumb people
know that we won’t be able to distinguish negative reactions from the
transfusion if we give it to him with a fever?!?! IDIOTS!!”. I wanted to
slap her to her senses. And I thought nurses were supposed to give their
patients comfort. Well that was one nurse. The little nurse in the funny red
blouse. Maybe that was why she was pissed. In fairness to the hospital, the
rest of the nurses were pretty much okay. This one who just came in to give my
brother the remaining bags of platelets is a kind and happy one. There should
be more nurses like her, cheery and all. She’s in a real nurses uniform
so I guess THAT’s why she’s happy. Hehe kidding..

 

 

 

Leave a comment