get connected.

Visiting my Daddylo

It’s been almost 7 years since my grandfather passed away. He was the first and still the only family i grew up with that has moved on. I remember it was tough, especially on my grandmother.

I miss my granddad. I still remember during his last days, he gave me the advice that has brought me where I am right now. I didn’t used to be one to go after the improbable. He told me I’d never find out unless I tried. It was accidental profound advice too. During that time period, I’d been missing out on a few good opportunities because I thought I couldn’t possibly be good enough. Then as I was watching over him one afternoon, he was telling me to call over my aunts and uncles who were supposedly at the door. I knew he was in a state of delirium so I didn’t bother. A few minutes later, he asked me whether I had called them over. I said, "uhh… I don’t think they’ll be able to hear me daddylo..". Then he starts telling me I’ll never find out what I can do unless I try. That definitely hit me right there. Since then, with every big decision on action I had to make, i think about what my granddad told me and I’d realize there is nothing to lose when you try.

The next year, I moved out of my home town for college in Manila. 5 years after, I moved out of the country to work in Singapore. I owe a lot of my guts to my grandfather.

I miss my granddad..

Leave a comment